Chugach Alaska Corporation (Chugach) Board Chairman Sheri Buretta, CEO Gabriel Kompkoff and the 国产精品 Political Action Committee (CAC PAC) joined forces with community leaders to host a special reception for Congressman Don Young (R-AK) celebrating his historical milestone as the longest serving republican in the history of congress.

鈥淲e鈥檙e grateful to Congressman Young for being a driving force in addressing the critical issues facing the Alaska Native community throughout his 46-year tenure,鈥 said Buretta. 鈥淗is steadfast commitment to protecting the cultural and economic interests of Alaska Native Corporations (ANCs) ensures that we can continue to provide benefits to our shareholder community today and for generations to come.鈥

“Congressman Young was joined by his wife Anne during the event, which featured a performance of traditional and modern Sugpiaq music by Alaska Native dance group Imamsuat.

Congressman Young is the longest current serving member of the United States House of Representatives and holds the title of Dean of the House. His record reinforces a dedication to advancing the interests of Alaska Natives, from facilitating amendments to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) and serving on the Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs, to fighting for the Small Business Administration鈥檚 (SBA) 8(a) Business Development program and protecting ANC鈥檚 land ownership rights.

鈥淪ome of my proudest accomplishments in Congress include crafting policies to support strong and healthy Alaska Native communities. My late wife Lu, my daughters and my grandchildren are Alaska Native, so for me, protecting economic and cultural interests for our First Peoples is personal,鈥 said Congressman Young. 鈥淚 would like to thank the 国产精品 Political Action Committee, Chugach leaders and the other Native leaders for hosting a wonderful event and for all the long-time friends who joined us in support of my campaign. We have achieved a great deal together and with their continued help, I will keep standing up for Alaska.鈥

Additional event hosts include Cynthia Berns, Hallie Bissett, Barbara Donatelli, Andrew Guy, Shauna Hegna, Carl Marrs, Nathan McCowan, Gloria O鈥橬eil, Greg Razo, Gail Schubert, Charles W. Totemoff and Roy Totemoff.

For media inquiries, contact Communications
Director Randi Jo Gause

Contact Randi